17.0303 Establishment of the public library board.

(a) The public library board is established. The board shall consist of eight members. The director of education or his designee, one additional member from the Department of Education, two members from the staff of the American Samoa Community College and at least two members from the private business sector. Seven members are to be appointed by the Governor with the advise and consent of the Legislature. The board members shall serve without compensation or other emoluments. Travel expenses for off island directors or for travel to board approved off island meetings will be reimbursed.

(b) In order to provide continuity in the work of the board, the term of office of six of the board members shall be for 4 years and shall be so arranged as not to expire at the same time. Members shall serve until their successor has been qualified. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as original appointments.

History: 1999, PL 26-3