19.0102 Organization of Commission.

Print This

(a) The Commerce Commission shall consist of the Director of Developmental Planning and 4 members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.

(b) Of the appointed members, one shall be from the Eastern District, one from the Western District, and one from the Manu’a District.

(c) Members appointed between sessions of the Legislature shall serve provisionally until the next session.

(d) The Commission shall elect its own Chairman at its first meeting each year.

History: 1972, PL 12-65 § 1; amd 1973, PL 13-20 § 2; amd 1979, PL 16-17 § 1.

Amendments: 1973 changed membership in Commission and Chairmanship; added consent of Senate to appointment; deleted reference to jurisdiction.

*1979 Subsection (a): deleted “Attorney General” from Commission membership and raised front 3 to 4 the number of members to be appointed by the Governor. Subsection (d): changed Chairmanship from the Attorney General to a person elected by the Commission.