3.0230 Trial division—Composition.

Print This

(a) The trial division shall consist of the Chief Justice, the Associate Justice and all of the Associate Judges.

(b) Sessions of the trial division shall be held before a justice and 2 associate judges, the presence of a justice and 1 associate judge being necessary to constitute a quorum for the trial and determination of a case or controversy.

History: 1967, PL 10-17; 1968, PL 10-62; 1969, PL 11-54; 1970, PL 11-116; PL 11-119;amd 1977, PL 15-60; amd 1979, PL 16-28 § 13.

Amendments: 1977 Added paragraphs relating to the circuit department.

1979 Deleted provision relating to traffic department sessions of the trial division, provision relating to small claims department of the trial division sessions, and provisions relating to circuit department and its jurisdiction and proceedings before it. Generally amended remaining provisions relating to trial division sessions.

Case Notes:

Circuit department proceedings are no! of record, are to be held in locations other than Courthouse, and may be held before any Justice or Judge alone. In re Dogs in Tafuna, ASR (1978).